Reckless Driving and Driving Error in San Antonio

Reckless driving is when a motor vehicle driver behaves with an egregious disregard for the safety of others on the road. Driver errors can refer to both intentional misbehaviors as well as careless mistakes – both of which can pose a threat to public safety. If another driver is at fault for causing your car accident in San Antonio, he or she can be held financially responsible under state law.

What Is Considered Reckless Driving in Texas?

Reckless driving is a punishable offense in Texas. Under Texas Transportation Code Section 545.401, reckless driving is defined as driving a vehicle in “willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.”

This legal definition can describe many types of dangerous driving behaviors, such as:

If a driver behaves in a manner that exhibits a flagrant disregard for whether his or her actions will cause a car accident, or if a driver knows there is a foreseeable risk of an accident based on his or her actions but continues anyway, this is reckless driving.

What Are the Penalties for Reckless Driving in Texas?

If a driver is pulled over by law enforcement and ticketed for reckless driving, he or she could face a misdemeanor charge. This can result in a fine of up to $200 and/or confinement in county jail for up to 30 days. If reckless driving involves certain types of conduct, such as drunk driving or racing, it could be enhanced to a felony in Texas.

Driver Mistakes Can Cause Serious Injuries

Reckless driving is not the only mistake that can lead to catastrophic car accidents in Texas. Drivers can also make careless and unintentional errors that increase the risk of a collision, such as failing to read traffic signs, failing to signal, following too closely, failing to yield the right-of-way and misjudging distances.

Both deliberate reckless driving behaviors and accidental driver mistakes can lead to serious injuries for car accident victims. Crash survivors are often admitted to emergency rooms with injuries such as broken bones, whiplash, head and brain injuries, back and spinal cord injuries, lacerations, and burn injuries.

How to Prove Another Driver Caused Your Car Accident in Texas

In Texas, the driver or party at fault for causing a car accident must pay for a victim’s bills and losses, typically through his or her automobile insurance policy. However, it is the victim’s responsibility to prove or establish fault. This must be done using clear and convincing evidence.

Evidence of reckless driving or driver error may include eyewitness statements, the contents of a police report (such as citations given for traffic violations), a reckless driving conviction, photographs and videos from the accident scene, cell phone records, testimony from experts, and crash reconstruction.

If you need assistance determining fault or gathering evidence to support your car accident claim in Texas, consult with a San Antonio injury lawyer at Hill Law Firm Accident and Injury Lawyers. We offer free initial case evaluations, where you can speak to an experienced car accident lawyer about your situation at no cost or obligation.

Awards & Accolades